2015 Hall of Fame Class Inducted

Back on August 8th, 2015, the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame presented its 15th Induction Ceremony. Driving inductees present were Tennessee’s Skip Arp, Iowa’s Curt Hansen, Pennsylvania’s Davey Johnson, Georgia’s Leon Sells and the family of the late Iowa legend Red Droste who accepted his honors posthumously.

The classes’ contributors were represented the families of the late Jim Butler (photographer) and Al Frieden (race promoter) while Ashley Ness accepted for Wayne Kindness (editor/columnist) who was unable to attend due to health issues.

Lifetime Achievement awards were given to late Kentucky racer Butch Shay and longtime Hoosier Tire representative Craig Cowan. The Hall’s Sportsman Award, presented annually by Circle Track Magazine, went to West Virginia runner Eddie Carrier Jr. The program concluded with the RPM Driver of the Year award going to young Illini phenom Bobby Pierce Jr.

The late afternoon affair staged on the front straightaway of the Florence Kentucky Speedway prior to the running of the annual North South 100 was emceed by Lucas Oil announcer and HoF VP James Essex. Other presenters were Hall of Fame founder Bill Holder, Dustin Jarrett, Adam Stewart, Ashley Ness, Hall of Fame secretary Kelly Carlton and Induction Director Bob Markos. Inaugural Hall of Fame class member Larry Moore served as the ceremony’s host presenter. Once again it was a sentimental and emotional affair well enjoyed by those on hand.

The program was videotaped in its entirety by Steve Gigeous of Sports Plus Video and can be purchased through his website:


Please enjoy this short video highlighting the weekend’s events courtesy of Markos Racing Media. Additional footage supplied by Steve Gigeous.